Effective september 1, 2013, you have 90 days to use your Texas marriage license. This is much more convenien than under the old law, especially for brides and grooms who are from out of state and have to make a special trip to Texas just to get the license. As always, however, you MUST obtain the license AT LEAST 72 hours before your wedding time. Also, please note that you can get your license in any county in the state of Texas and have your wedding in any of the Texas counties. The original license will be returned to and recorded in the county where you received it. Both parties must be present and submit proper identification. The fee is currently $82 , but is subject to change, of course. The marriage license, signed by your officiant, must be recorded wthin 30 days after the wedding.